Make Up…SIMPLE STEP ONE…?

Make Up…SIMPLE STEP ONE…?

Following on from my post yesterday, I thought I would share with you what I have learnt in the last 24 hours of MAKE UP HELL! 

Apparently powder foundation in a compact is NOT good for skin that might have a tiny bit of moisture on it.

Sounds obvious but for four years I have been using the same powder that has kept drying out on me, and by drying out I mean creating a 1 cm thick scaling skin that you have to scratch in order to get rid of.

However the moment you try and apply the newly scratched make up, it starts to create a dry skin again in seconds. 

I was using MAC studio Fix in compact form.

Now yes I admit this is a really good foundation, it did its job and was not too thick. However I was spending 21.50 on a foundation that I got 2 months or 3 months out of. And by the end of those months I would be left with half the foundation unused and so dry that I could not be bothered to get my hands filthy de-scaling it every time I wanted to use it. 

I had spoken to MAC on the phone several times and at least 3 times in person. Yet it was not until yesterday that the finally a MAC representative in person broke down the problem:

“To put it simply, you have oily skin and it is drying out the powder.” 

So bloody simple and yet the MAC customer services on the phone are so scared to tell you that your skin might be imperfect that they will willingly lie to you and keep sending you new products, rather than let you go to another make up supplier.

The fix?

The woman tried out the fluid version of studio fix and I bought it (MAC had sent me a cheque and I was not prepared to spend my own money on some make up that could fail me any second). 

Apart from the harsh reality that yes my skin was a little oily, did I learn anything from the viciously truthful woman at MAC? (and I am not advertising these products so I am going to be as truthful as possible!):

Lets start right at the beginning: 

Concealer is meant to be applied to under the eyes in order to cover bags (which I have lots of!), around the mouth where you can get dark lines and on and around spots or mis-colour on your skin.

Apparently there are two concealers, both at different ends of the scale, that are worth investing in:

Collection 2000 Lasting Perfection Concealer £4.99

It is a good cover up and especially worth the price. If you are looking for something cheap that works than this is something to consider. Simple and Cheap. Lasting for about 5 hours at the max.

MAC Select Cover Up £15.50

Really brilliant at covering up spots, plus it lasts over a long period of time. The only difference is the colour is more accurate to your skin, and it lasts longer. 

So it is up to you, do you opt for the cheaper simpler version leaving money left over to go towards that Christmas Dress you want so badly?

Or do you want to spend a few more pounds and end up with the better product but a bigger dent in the bank?

Sali-Hughes-Concealers-007

Leave a Reply

