Do relationships really go sour at Christmas?

Do relationships really go sour at Christmas?

This is a question that was posed to me a few days ago, and honestly I don’t know the right answer. 

Let me start by telling you my own personal feelings about the Christmas period:

It started when I was 18 and very ill over Christmas. I spent the entire day being sick and holding my head over a bucket, whilst everyone downstairs was full of lauhgter and cheer (the worse bit was hearing it through the walls and knowing that I was missing all of it).

That was when the pattern started….the negative pattern. For some reason I managed to get dumped on Christmas Day once by one guy and the day before by another.

The only Christmas that I have actually ever been truly happy was last year when I met my boyfriend of now. 

However that darkness still hangs over you no matter what, that voice in your head telling you that it is going to happen again (getting dumped at Christmas) and that you are kidding yourself if you think you are going to be happy this Winter. 

A friend said something very interesting to me yesterday:

“During the winter noone dates or goes out really, everyone just wants a girl to cuddle up with on the couch in front of the fire and watch movies”

Was this true?

Or did girls want this to be the case and actually whilst as the cold winds started blowing we began getting more cuddly and clingy?

Is this ultimately what made the boys/boyfreinds run in the other direction?

The common misperception is that as soon as Summer is over then everything gets a little bit more serious. The time for quick flings that you can blame on the raging heat has gone, and now in order to go out you actually have to be either really drunk or really inclined not to cancel, in order to step out of the front door. 

Obviously I am a girl and this might very well be a womans perception. Why do I think this?

I spoke to my boyfriend today and he asked me why I was being all lovey dovey all of a sudden.

Now he did not mean it in a nasty way, in fact he said it as a joke and quickly added after “not that I don’t like it, It’s just funny”.

But it got me thinking…..was I being overly lovey dovey?

Was it becasue all of a sudden in the space of a few weeks, I had gone from wanting to drink beers in the sun to cuddling up on a couch with a hot mulled wine watching Christmas movies? 

Isn’t it interesting how quickly we change in regards to the weather. 

Did you know that there is even a mental disorder called S.A.D (it looks like I am joking doesn’t it? But I am not)

It stands for Seasonal Affective Disorder (an actualy mental disorder that causes people to change emotionally as soon as it gets warm or cold). 

Is this what was causing all the relationships taking a sour turn? 

adjustment

Leave a Reply

